Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | KIT

Profile

Like no other discipline, Operations Research (OR) depends on the active interaction between theory and practice. This is immediately incurred by the object of research: the analysis of a problem and the preparation of optimal decisions in companies with scientific methods from mathematics, informatics and economics.

The relatively young research area of Operations Research has its roots in the 1940s. It is aligned with an interdisciplinary character and recently serves as an important function on the interface between economics and engineering, as well as between economics and natural sciences. Numerous new developments and advancements of quantitative methods have led to new application areas of OR especially over the last years.

Three important pillars in OR are the field of discrete methods of OR with applications in logistics, supply chain management and health care management, the field of continuous methods in OR with applications in waste minimization, worst-case analysis, parameter fitting and game theory, and the field of stochastic methods of OR with applications in revenue management, the evaluation of operating risks in the context of Basel II, statistical process control and the optimization of waiting systems.

Since 2009, these three pillars of OR are represented in the Faculty for Economics and Industrial Engineering by the joint Institute of Operations Research. Since 2015 they are complemented by a fourth pillar which treats the complete and efficient information retrieval from very large data sets by statistical methods. Recognition of structures in these data and the reduction of their complexity subsequently permit optimization of data driven decision processes.

The joint institute allows strong synergy effects in research, teaching, public relations and cooperation with external partners. The main branches of OR are clearly addressed by the focus of the institute's chairs.

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Unser Profil

Wie kaum eine andere Disziplin lebt das Operations Research (OR) von einem regen Wissensaustausch zwischen Theorie und Praxis. Dies bedingt alleine schon der Forschungsgegenstand: die Problemanalyse und Vorbereitung optimaler Entscheidungen in Unternehmen mittels wissenschaftlicher Methoden aus Mathematik, Informatik und Wirtschaftswissenschaften.

Das noch relativ junge Forschungsgebiet des OR hat seine Ursprünge in den 1940er Jahren. Es ist interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und nimmt inzwischen eine zentrale Funktion an der Schnittstelle zwischen Ökonomie und Technik, aber auch zwischen Ökonomie und Naturwissenschaften wahr. Zahlreiche Neu- und Weiterentwicklungen quantitativer Methoden haben gerade in den letzten Jahrzehnten zu neuen Anwendungsfeldern des OR geführt.

Als drei methodische Grundpfeiler des OR gelten diskrete Methoden des OR mit Anwendungen in der Logistik, dem Supply Chain Management und dem Health Care Management, kontinuierliche Methoden des OR mit Anwendungen in der Verschnittminimierung, der Worst-Case-Analyse, beim Parameter-Fitting und in der Spieltheorie sowie stochastische Methoden des OR mit Anwendungen etwa im Revenue Management, der Bewertung operationeller Risiken im Zusammenhang mit Basel II, der statistischen Fertigungsüberwachung oder der Optimierung von Wartesystemen.

Seit dem Jahre 2009 werden diese drei fachlichen Grundpfeiler des OR in der Fakultät für Wirtschaftswissenschaften durch ein gemeinsames Institut für Operations Research repräsentiert. Ergänzt werden sie seit 2015 durch den neuen Pfeiler "Analytics and Statistics", der sich mit der vollständigen und effizienten Nutzung von in sehr großen Datenmengen enthaltenen Informationen mit Hilfe statistischer Methoden befasst. Das Erkennen von Struktur in diesen Daten und die Reduktion ihrer Komplexität ermöglichen eine anschließende Optimierung datengetriebener Entscheidungsprozesse.

Durch das gemeinsame Institut werden starke Synergieeffekte in Forschung, Lehre, Außendarstellung und bei Kooperationen mit externen Partnern möglich. Die Hauptaufgabengebiete des OR spiegeln sich deutlich in den Ausrichtungen der einzelnen Lehrstühle des Instituts für Operations Research wider.